Dear daddy,

Dear daddy,

I am a part of you and you of I

The days when my hands were a perfect fit around your finger

The days when my smile brought tears of joy in your eyes

The days when anger was felt but never shown

The days when I toddled across the ground and you after me

The days when I fell and you kissed away the pain

The days when your arms spread to greet me as I came running

The days when I was the centre of your world and you mine

The days when all we did was smile at each other even when we were crying

The days when to strike me was a non existent thought

Dear daddy,

What happened?

These are the days when even our presences don’t sit well around each other

These are the days when I cry and you forget

There are the days when anger blooms into a cocoon of shouts and screams

These are the days when you walk one way and I another

These are the days when we both rejoice as the other suffers

These are the days when your face contorts in irritation as you see me coming

These are the days when we are separate, estranged

These are the days when we frown at each other through the tears

These are the days when nothing is an impossibility

Dear daddy,

What happened?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

