Killing

Does a life have value?

Does every life have value?

What determines the value of a life?

Who determines the value of a life?

What is life? 

Yet again, I don’t know the answer to any of these questions. But, I’ll make things up as I go along. 

We have all taken a life at least once in our lives, directly or indirectly, intentionally or unintentionally, ironic isn’t it? We have all killed bugs. 

As I have grown older, I have stopped killing them. Even when I am walking I try to make sure I am not stepping on some ants or other insects. It’s a bit hard to explain but I really do believe that every life has equal value, whether it be an ant, a chicken, a dog or a human being. 

I really don’t think anyone should get to decide the value of a life and then act on the value they place. It’s like: if someone is okay with killing bugs and animals then how far away are they from killing a fellow human <- this whitin itself is a flawed, paradoxical concept because if I believe that killing bugs and animals may lead to people being okay with killing humans then am I really placing equal value on the lives of all living things?  

Then there is the thing that if I am not okay with taking a life, am I okay with eating meat? Because that is me indirectly taking a life. I became a vegetarian for 2 and a half months. My reasoning was simple: if I can survive perfectly healthy without meat, why does a life need to be taken? 

And isn’t that true? Why unnecessarily take a life, when we can survive without having to? 

More importantly what is life? Is life only there when we are doing something of meaning or is life there for the sake of being there? 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

